Georgia – EU Trade Relations

Georgia – EU Trade Relations


Since the collapse of the Soviet Union, Georgia has developed strong trade relations with several countries. Through the free trade regimes, Georgian products have access to one-third of the world consumer market, reaching more than 2.3 billion consumers. 

Georgia currently has free trade regimes with the European Union, the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Turkey (2008), China (2018), Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) countries, and Hong Kong. Georgia also has bilateral free trade agreements with Russia, Uzbekistan, Moldova, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan, and Armenia. 

The European Union recognised Georgia as an independent sovereign state in 1992, marking the start of extensive collaboration. The European Union and Georgia signed the partnership and cooperation agreement in 1996, which entered into force in 1999. The agreement’s goals were to support trade relations between the countries and ensure stable economic cooperation. 

Share on: